RSS Feed

Mish Mash

Posted on

Today’s post is a mish mash of items. I’ve got a review, two manicures, and some glitter.

First up is this simple manicure I did using In the Cab-ana by essie. This is easily one of my favorite polishes and I use it all the time, especially when it’s such an awesome summer color. Today I simply applied two coats of polish and let them dry. Afterwards I applied some Seche Vite topcoat to the tips of my nails and sprinkled glitter on top. I let this dry and then used Seche Vite on the entire nail to help seal in the glitter. What resulted was an awesome, easy-to-do manicure!

More below!

Pardon my cuticles. They’re still pretty gnarly. The polish and glitter look great though!

The second manicure was done using Sunbaker (butter by London) and Gold Coin (Revlon). I applied two coats of Sunbaker and waited an hour for it to dry. The reason I waited so long is because I knew I would be using tape and if you don’t wait long enough you will end up regretting it! Unless polish is dried 100% any kind of tape you use will pull pieces up off the nail. You’re better off waiting a little while longer than jumping the gun and trying to get it all done in a quick manner. It’s not impossible to do this manicure somewhat quickly but it probably won’t look as good.

Anyway, after I let the first polish dry I taped off my nails using painter’s tape. Why painter’s tape? It’s what I had laying around after painting my living room, haha. It works just as well as any other tape when it comes to nails, maybe even better. After taping them off I used Gold Goin to fill in the triangle areas. Apply one coat of topcoat and this will help “seal” the two polishes together and create a smoother look. Voila!

As you can see it’s not exactly perfect. Quite frankly it can be difficult to get it 100% perfect when it comes to tape. However, no one is going to notice. I still loved it!

 

Today’s review is for Sunbaker by butter by London. This polish is absolutely, positively GORGEOUS! It’s different from anything else I’ve seen… and I’ve seen a lot of polish. Like all butter polishes it applies smoothly and doesn’t chip too easily. I wore it for three days before any chips began and I imagine that wouldn’t have happened if I wasn’t busy doing household chores every day (they can be tough on nails!). I personally think it’s worth the $12 I paid for it, especially because I’ve never seen anything like it anywhere else.

How gorgeous is this?!

I leave you all with a little glitter. This is my new obsession. It’s so cheap and it makes for some great nail polish if you’re into mixing things up!

And last but not least, one of my very own indie polishes! I don’t have a name for it yet but I made several bottles last night. Enjoy!

 

About rookienails

As of July 2013: I'm currently 25 and married to a wonderful Marine officer named John. As of January 2013 we live in Camp Lejeune, North Carolina. Together we have a 22 month old son named Jameson. I went to school at the University of Mississippi and am originally from Rome, GA. I have also lived in SC, VT, and VA. Last but not least I love anything having to do with nails and jewelry! This blog is entirely about nails and while I'm a total beginner it's fun all the same.

2 responses »

  1. I love these! Your glittler tips are perfect for summer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

