RSS Feed

Set in Stones by Essie

Posted on

I’m trying to distract myself from the fact that it is way too late for me to be up right now, especially given the fact that I need to prepare for my brother in law and his family coming into town later on today. Sometimes I can be such an insomniac. I can’t really afford to  be one with a small child on a schedule (awake at 7 a.m., asleep at 7 p.m., and one nap during the afternoon for about an hour) because I end up becoming an exhausted zombie mom.

At least tonight’s insomnia won’t be in vain, right? I bring you Set in Stones by Essie.

Each photo shows a different type of lighting which really allowed the glitter to shine. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to capture the true awesomeness of this polish no matter what lighting I took the photos in. Just remember it’s 10 times more amazing in person and that’s all there is to it. I haven’t been this in love with a polish in quite some time!

Unfortunately my nails are in terrible shape right now. Last week I spent a lot of time doing manual chores like painting the living room, cooking, washing dishes, etc. and it really took a toll on my already crappy nails. I was never blessed with thick nails that grow long and even had a nail biting problem at one point. There was also the incident where I lost the entire nail on my pointer finger (post about it here: Warning: Graphic Photos!) in 2010.

It was an absolutely horrifying experience and my nail has never been the same. It grows towards the right and takes a lot of filing to keep it “even” in appearance. Strangely enough it is now my thickest nail and subsequently my favorite. It grows longer than any other nail, perhaps to make up for the nail bed trauma. Who knows why it suddenly became a super nail of sorts but it is what it is and I’m getting off track here. Long story short: My nails freaking suck and it’s especially visible in the following photos. Forgive me and together let’s hope they improve sooner rather than later!

Back to the polish! Set in Stones is a glitter-based polish that features large hexagonal and smaller circular pieces of silver glitter. It’s one of the few glitter polishes that can actually stand out on its own without going on top of another polish (although I’m using Beige-a-vu by Nina Ultra Pro as my base here but only because it was already there and helps add some contrast to the glitter).

While the glitter is suspended in a clear liquid there is so much of it you could actually get away with using this polish alone. In the photos shown I have only used ONE coat! It will absolutely go with any other color though as silver compliments everything and it’s especially great for events like going out on the town. This polish really stands out so it’s not for the tame but even those who prefer mostly conservative colors (like me) can love Set in Stones.

However, I digress: This polish is fantastic and I highly recommend it. It’s packed with glitter and well worth the $7.00-$8.00 price tag.  I can definitely tell it will be gone in no time!

 

I’ll leave this post with a somewhat close-up photo of Set in Stones in natural lighting. Gorgeous, isn’t it? Once again the photos really don’t capture how truly awesome this polish is. I know I’m gushing about it to the point of being freakish but it’s really that good. I definitely give it a 10 out of 10!

 

About rookienails

As of July 2013: I'm currently 25 and married to a wonderful Marine officer named John. As of January 2013 we live in Camp Lejeune, North Carolina. Together we have a 22 month old son named Jameson. I went to school at the University of Mississippi and am originally from Rome, GA. I have also lived in SC, VT, and VA. Last but not least I love anything having to do with nails and jewelry! This blog is entirely about nails and while I'm a total beginner it's fun all the same.

2 responses »

  1. thebubblybrunette

    This is so gorgeous! I love the way it looks layered over a nude – it pops!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

