RSS Feed

Hot Chick Polish and Not Too Polished

Posted on

Today’s review is for indie polishes I ordered off of Etsy. The first is the one I was most excited about, Popcorn at the Drive-in by Hot Chick Physics and the second one is Tangerine by Not Too Polished. Both ladies shipped their products immediately in appropriate packaging and I was impressed with the setup of their websites. However, I was disappointed with one of the polishes once I tried it out. Click below to read more.

First thing’s first: Swatches! Thanks to their names it’s obvious which polish is which so I’m not going to bother with labeling every single photo. Enjoy!

With the Popcorn at the Drive-in the coats are as follows from L to R: Three coats, two coats, and one coat. With Tangerine the coats are as follows from R to L: One coat, two coats, three coats. I know this is pretty obvious but want to be thorough nonetheless. For both polishes I preferred three coats but there was one difference between the two: Popcorn at the Drive-in needed a little polish thinner before I could get it where I wanted it. This was a huge disappointment for me! I had HUGE hopes for this polish based on how it looked in the bottle but it applied in a very clumpy manner. It took me three or four tries before I could achieve something that looked like this:

612

Obviously this isn’t the picture perfect polish us addicts dream of but it isn’t bad either! I actually grew to like it by the time I fiddled with it some. Because it’s indie polish I imagine each batch might be a little different so don’t rule this supplier out based on my post alone. I have only purchased one bottle thus far and it won’t keep me from buying any more!

As for the Tangerine polish? I have not yet done swatches with it but will in the near future. This post will be updated soon with better photos if, once again, Photobucket begins to act better (I know this is becoming a common theme in my posts… I swear that last photo isn’t supposed to be as huge as it is and I don’t feel like digging up the HTML required to re-size it).

Here are the links to their Etsy pages:

Hot Chick Physics

Not Too Polished

Hope everyone had a great weekend!

About rookienails

As of July 2013: I'm currently 25 and married to a wonderful Marine officer named John. As of January 2013 we live in Camp Lejeune, North Carolina. Together we have a 22 month old son named Jameson. I went to school at the University of Mississippi and am originally from Rome, GA. I have also lived in SC, VT, and VA. Last but not least I love anything having to do with nails and jewelry! This blog is entirely about nails and while I'm a total beginner it's fun all the same.

Leave a Reply

