RSS Feed

Getting Personal

Posted on

I think I’m going to take this blog in a new direction. I’ve got a lot going on in my life and want to document some of it in addition to sharing my love for all things polish-related. Hopefully this won’t change the overall goal which has been something I’ve maintained since day one roughly one year ago.

In case you missed it, my “mission” was to do a nail blog unlike any other. I wanted to direct it towards people who aren’t exactly experts with nail polish. When I originally began this thing I owned a few bottles of polish and saw a particular manicure that inspired me to try new things. In my search for new manicure ideas I came across nail blogs and fell completely in love with all things polish.

One thing I noticed about these blogs, however, was their lack of newbie-friendly material. It would often take me hours of research just to get something down pat. My hope is to keep other people from having to do the same so I make sure to include very specific categories and tags with each of my posts.

Long story short? I want this blog, Rookie Nails, to be for EVERYONE but I want it to be targeted towards those who are just getting started. I also want it to be for people who aren’t blessed with gorgeous, long nails like you see in a majority of blogs. My nails are FAR from long, thick, and beautiful. Sometimes you can use all the products in the world and still not end up with model-esque nails like you see in a majority of nail blogs. This doesn’t mean, however, you can’t end up with a gorgeous set of nails!

Lastly, I want to introduce the person behind the screen. I want to make this more personal so you can see who I truly am. A lot of nail bloggers seem almost ghost-like to me and I want to know more. Of course that’s just me =) Because of this I will intersperse random posts about what’s going on in my life. Please let me know what you think in the future!

About rookienails

As of July 2013: I'm currently 25 and married to a wonderful Marine officer named John. As of January 2013 we live in Camp Lejeune, North Carolina. Together we have a 22 month old son named Jameson. I went to school at the University of Mississippi and am originally from Rome, GA. I have also lived in SC, VT, and VA. Last but not least I love anything having to do with nails and jewelry! This blog is entirely about nails and while I'm a total beginner it's fun all the same.

Leave a Reply

