RSS Feed

My First Foray into Franken/Indie Polish!

Posted on

With the supplies mentioned in the last post I finally got down to business and began some serious polish chemistry. I was surprised by the immediate success! The first thing I came up with was a very thick, glittery pink polish. It only needed one coat. At first it was too thick but after adding some thinner it was juuuust right. My favorite polish, however, was this white/aqua color with blue, silver, and green glitters. It’s somewhat visible in some of these photos but I’ll get an up close and personal shot tomorrow or soon thereafter.

My number one recommendation so far? Lay down a trash bag before you get started! Franken-polishing is an absolute mess! I even had all of my tools laid out and tons of acetone on hand and it still got messy. My second recommendation is to use gloves. I don’t know how but polish got all over my hands. My third? Keep a vacuum cleaner on hand in case any glitter gets blown anywhere. My stupid self exhaled over a batch of glitter and POOF… it went all over my carpet!

Here’s my (very beginner) setup:

Below are more photos of what I came up with.

The furthest on the left is what’s in the bottle but it’s only after one coat. The lighting makes it look bad too. If I had added several coats it would have been more aqua in color. My next favorite is the one right above it and then the one chock full of glitter. I also like the “party favors” nail… Hell, I like all of them! I need closeups of each so you can see all the types of glitter I used.

Not only did I mix a lot of glitter polish, I also used a lot pigments to make plain ole polishes that turned out really well. Most of them were turquoise in color though which is an obviously common theme in this blog.

More photos to come!

About rookienails

As of July 2013: I'm currently 25 and married to a wonderful Marine officer named John. As of January 2013 we live in Camp Lejeune, North Carolina. Together we have a 22 month old son named Jameson. I went to school at the University of Mississippi and am originally from Rome, GA. I have also lived in SC, VT, and VA. Last but not least I love anything having to do with nails and jewelry! This blog is entirely about nails and while I'm a total beginner it's fun all the same.

2 responses »

  1. I was laughing out loud at your post, the glitter exhale, oh that sucks! I’m guessing Party Favors is the awesome Funfetti looking one, I think it’s my favorite! The aqua with the glitter would be pretty to wear too. I love them both. Let me know how how your glitters hold up. I tried it once with huge pieces I thought were solvent resistant until a few days later all the color was gone and it was all muck. I’m rooting for you to post swatches of the turquoise polishes you made. You’re onto something stick with it!

    Reply
    • You do the same! I am interested in seeing what you have come up with yourself. I love seeing what people create when it comes to “frankening”. And thanks for the compliments, you are too kind!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

