RSS Feed

Review Post #014

Alright, I have quite a few reviews backlogged from the week I was visiting family. As you can see my  mother donated plenty of polish to add to my obsession. I got to try <b>Butter by London</b> for the first time and it is as wonderful as I had been hearing. I also got to try quite a few other brands (I’ll post more about them later).

Rather than talk a lot like I normally do I’ll try my best to get right down to business!

Click below to see more!

First polish of the day (night?) is Lilacing Discipline by Nina Ultra Pro. Unlike most polish names this one is actually kind of clever (or am I giving it too much credit..?). Whatever the case, it’s better than most and the name’s uniqueness matches the actual quality. Nina Ultra Pro is a brand I only stumbled upon recently while trying to make the most of a sale at Sally’s. At first glance I admit to judging a polish by its bottle. Quite honestly it’s clumsy looking and I didn’t think it would amount to much. Well, I was wrong. It has quickly become one of my favorite brands and although I only have a few I plan to increase my collection as soon as possible. The formula they use is fabulous and the colors they offer are nothing short of wonderful. I also thought it would apply horrendously because the brush is large but once again I was wrong. I’m not normally a huge fan of bigger brushes but this one seemed to fit my nails perfectly. This one gets an A+.

Next up is Slapper (Butter by London). I don’t have much to say about this polish other than… it’s freaking awesome! I have seen it all over other blogs but hadn’t been able to find it in local stores. (Then again I live in the middle of nowhere right now so that’s no surprise.) I’m not huge on ordering stuff online because it’s too damn easy and I would go crazy if I started purchasing stuff that way. Instead I prefer doing it in person which is unfortunate because I tend to miss out on lots of amazing brands. This is one of those instances. This polish is amazing in every way you can imagine: color, formula, consistency… Everything is grade A.

Lastly we have Smooth Sailing. For me this polish was love at first sight. I’m a humongous fan of blue so naturally I was drawn to it immediately but the fact that it’s an Essie polish sealed the deal for me. Naturally it’s a wonderful formula and the consistency is fabulous. Another thing I love about it? The subtle amount of sparkles. I’m not a huge fan of metallics or sparkles but this one is just enough of both without going overboard.

If you’re interested in a more in depth look at Essie brand polishes just click the “Essie” tag at the top of the post.

This polish really shimmers in natural sunlight!

About rookienails

As of July 2013: I'm currently 25 and married to a wonderful Marine officer named John. As of January 2013 we live in Camp Lejeune, North Carolina. Together we have a 22 month old son named Jameson. I went to school at the University of Mississippi and am originally from Rome, GA. I have also lived in SC, VT, and VA. Last but not least I love anything having to do with nails and jewelry! This blog is entirely about nails and while I'm a total beginner it's fun all the same.

Leave a Reply

