RSS Feed

Review Post #011

We’ll keep this short and sweet. First review is of Essie’s Wrapped in Rubies. This is a dark, metallic burgundy polish with a touch of gold shimmer. Here’s a close up of the bottle so you can see:

This polish–like all other Essie polishes I’ve reviewed thus far–applies smoothly and looks great in just two coats. I’m not usually a fan of metallic polishes but this one was too gorgeous to pass up.

Click below for more swatches!

Next up is Spice Romance by Rimmel. I have never used any of their polishes before but this one caught my eye and I decided to try it out. Besides, I’m all about trying new brands out as I move along in this world of nail blogging. Upon first glance this brand has a beautiful bottle which actually matters to me. Aesthetically appealing polishes draw me in a lot more than polishes whose bottles are plain, uninteresting, or even downright ugly. If I see two bottles of polish that are close in color and both are brands I haven’t tried I will always go with the one that has the more appealing bottle. My favorite bottles are probably Essie’s because they fit so well together in a box, almost like bricks. I love square bottles for this very reason.

Okay, I got off on a bottle tangent of all things… Back to the polish swatches. This is Spice Romance and it looks even better in person than it does in these photos. It applied well and only needed two coats. The brush is wide which I normally do not prefer but for whatever reason it seemed easier to use than other brushes of a similar size. All in all it’s a brand I look forward to purchasing in the future.

Last but not least is Muse by Revlon. If you’ve read any of my other entries about Revlon polishes you’ll know that I adore them. This one is no different. I love the khaki color and believe it looks good on just about any skin type. It’s also something you could wear in any situation whether it’s formal or not. Like their other polishes it applies well and lasts long.

About rookienails

As of July 2013: I'm currently 25 and married to a wonderful Marine officer named John. As of January 2013 we live in Camp Lejeune, North Carolina. Together we have a 22 month old son named Jameson. I went to school at the University of Mississippi and am originally from Rome, GA. I have also lived in SC, VT, and VA. Last but not least I love anything having to do with nails and jewelry! This blog is entirely about nails and while I'm a total beginner it's fun all the same.

Leave a Reply

