RSS Feed

Manicure #006: Tape Happy Two

Today’s manicure is brought to you by Big Spender (Essie) and Mint Apple (Sinful Colors). I had originally planned on doing more with it but the Mint Apple proved difficult. It’s hard to explain but it’s one of those polishes that just ends up really thick, even with just one coat. Because it was so goopy (new word time!) I knew that unless I let it dry for a few hours or a day it would end up peeling off with another layer of tape. Oh well, it looked good anyway, right? I wish I had cleaned it up a little better though. I was working with regular light and didn’t have the overhead on like an idiot so I missed a few things that I never saw until after the photos were taken. Ah well, such is life. Try to imagine this mani without the crappy cuticles and random spots of polish!

This manicure and the last both used Scotch tape. I don’t know why but that’s my favorite kind of manicure to do right now. It’s so fun and easy, not to mention it’s really a quick way to achieve perfect lines (which is good for someone who is so picky like me). Obviously this particular mani isn’t 100% perfect but that has more to do with me being a newbie than anything else. I have confidence that once I get a little more practice I’ll be able to do something damn near perfect… or I hope so at least!

About rookienails

As of July 2013: I'm currently 25 and married to a wonderful Marine officer named John. As of January 2013 we live in Camp Lejeune, North Carolina. Together we have a 22 month old son named Jameson. I went to school at the University of Mississippi and am originally from Rome, GA. I have also lived in SC, VT, and VA. Last but not least I love anything having to do with nails and jewelry! This blog is entirely about nails and while I'm a total beginner it's fun all the same.

Leave a Reply

