RSS Feed

Polish Review #004

Two posts are scheduled for today starting with this polish review of two Essie polishes I just purchased. I was too excited to wait any longer so here I am posting the review!

First one up is Mamba.

As you can well see this polish is a lovely nude shade that can be paired with anything you could possibly dream of wearing. It works with a black tie affair or a day at the beach and anything in between. While I did not leave it on long I did do the dishes by hand and not a single chip occurred. I did not use a top coat on it either. Suffice it to say this polish is shiny on its own and doesn’t need any help from a glossy over coat.

On to the next and last polish for this post: the aptly named Play Date. This polish is a lovely pastel purple color and is very pleasing to the eye to say the least. I could throw in tons of descriptions and such but none would do it justice. I only applied two coats and left it on for several hours. Once again I cannot guarantee it will last long but I have a feeling that like many other Essie brand polishes it is worth the money. I purchased these two bottles for $7.75 each at Wal-mart which is about a quarter less than average from what I can tell. I am not disappointed!

Do you like Essie polishes? Please let me know in the comments section and feel free to share your own reviews.

About rookienails

As of July 2013: I'm currently 25 and married to a wonderful Marine officer named John. As of January 2013 we live in Camp Lejeune, North Carolina. Together we have a 22 month old son named Jameson. I went to school at the University of Mississippi and am originally from Rome, GA. I have also lived in SC, VT, and VA. Last but not least I love anything having to do with nails and jewelry! This blog is entirely about nails and while I'm a total beginner it's fun all the same.

2 responses »

  1. I loooove Essie! Their small brushes and relatively thin formula are kind of annoying, but they dry super shiny and very chip resistant!

    Reply
    • Yup, couldn’t have said it better myself. The polish does get kind of “drippy” for a lack of better terms but after playing with it a tiny bit I’ve realized two very thin coats usually end up looking best (at least with the four bottles of Essie I have so far).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

