RSS Feed

Manicure #002

My last post that included manicures featured three different styles. However, this is my second post dedicated to a manicure and as such it will be considered number two. I mention this because I’m slightly O.C.D. when it comes to how I format each post. Each post needs a theme so it can be applied to the appropriate category on the menu to the right. This will allow for easy searching when I one day have readers.

This manicure is referred to as an “ombre” manicure. It can be achieved in different ways but mine has been done by taking a makeup sponge (the kind you can buy an entire bag of for no more than $2 at most big stores like Target or Wal-mart), painting several lines of different color polishes, and sponging them on an already painted nail. It helps if you paint your nails a light color like white or the lightest color you want to use so the fade effect really pops. However, you can go as crazy as you want from there!

I, however, stuck to a pretty demure set of colors. For this manicure I used White on White by China Glaze as the base coat and Chic, Dreamer, and Timeless, all by Revlon. As much as I hate to admit it at this point all of the Revlon polishes transferred easily from sponge to nail.

One thing I love about ombre manicures is that you can easily correct them by adding more or less of any one color. They’re also great because you don’t need much time to create a very cool looking manicure that will surely grab peoples’ attention.

I will post a tutorial on ombre nails either tomorrow or sometime later on this week. Thanks for reading!

About rookienails

As of July 2013: I'm currently 25 and married to a wonderful Marine officer named John. As of January 2013 we live in Camp Lejeune, North Carolina. Together we have a 22 month old son named Jameson. I went to school at the University of Mississippi and am originally from Rome, GA. I have also lived in SC, VT, and VA. Last but not least I love anything having to do with nails and jewelry! This blog is entirely about nails and while I'm a total beginner it's fun all the same.

Leave a Reply

