RSS Feed

I’ve got the China Glaze craze going on…/Review #002

Posted on

In light of recent events involving Revlon I have had to turn to other brands to feed my addiction. I live in a small town with one beauty supply store and a Wal-mart that carries your basic polish brands like NYC, wet n wild, Revlon, L’oreal, Sally Hansen, etc. Fortunately our beauty supply store has a nice stock of China Glaze which I have come to enjoy.

I bought my first three bottles of CG a few days before starting this blog and have really liked it since then. However, I’m not made of money so I try to conserve it when I can and this involves purchasing a lot of cheaper brands like Revlon, Insta-dri, NYC, and anything that shows up in TJ Maxx. I have “splurged” once in a while but generally stick to polishes that cost about $5 or less a bottle because I’m simply trying to build a base of my collection at this moment.

I now have over 50 bottles of polish when just a few weeks ago I only had a couple so I’ve already invested several hundred bucks in a short period of time. If I start purchasing brands like CG, Essie, “indie polishes,” Orly, and OPI on a regular basis I will have to cut back on the number of bottles I get and my collection will sort of plateau. Being the polishaholic I am this is a sad realization but I’m not budging from my promise to boycott Revlon after that whole debacle (see my previous post).

Long story short? I am not going to be buying as much polish as I was. Instead I’ll be buying bottles of polish that are of higher quality and made by respected companies. Although I am not planning on throwing my 30 bottles of Revlon polishes out, I do not intend on buying anymore. You will continue to see Revlon on my nails until I run out of polish because I’m not going to throw out something I’ve already paid good money for. You will, however, see a much larger concentration of differing brands in the near future.

Sorry, that was slightly tl;dr which tends to happen after a glass of wine… What I actually intended on doing was posting a few reviews.

Here are the China Glaze polishes I have purchased over the past two weeks. I apologize for the poor lighting.

L to R: Recycle, First Mate, VIII, Unplugged, Swing Baby, Sunset Sail, White on White.

I am going to start with just a couple of CG’s polishes for this review post and work my way through the rest in due time. First up is, well, First Mate.

Where do I begin… This polish is simply amazing! CG is really popular for a reason and that’s because they make polishes truly worth all the praise they receive. What you are looking at is just one coat of First Mate and nothing more. There’s no bottom coat or even a top coat. I am far from an expert when it comes to painting my nails (in case you haven’t noticed) yet it turned out this beautiful! In other words it basically speaks for itself. It applies like a dream and doesn’t streak. It isn’t watery (like NYC) but it’s also not thick (like Insta-Dri which isn’t thick to the point of being difficult but it’s certainly one of the thicker polishes I’ve used thus far). It’s the perfect consistency and nothing less.

As for the color it also speaks for itself. It’s a beautiful, bold midnight blue that’s definitely in style at the moment and will continue looking good through fall and winter. It can be used during any season in my personal opinion and it also matches a lot of different things. It’s pretty versatile to say the least which is an especially good thing when it lasts at least a week because you can change outfits and styles without having to worry about your polish looking out of place. I could go on and on but this post is already insane enough so I’ll spare you, haha.

One more thing: please excuse the fuzz on my pinky nail in the above photo! How embarrassing, haha. I am so guilty of not following my own advice and often not allowing my nails to dry long enough before using my hands. I’m just too excited to move on to the next review, I suppose.

Next up is Recycle.

Much of the same can be said for this polish which isn’t exactly surprising considering the who makes it. This color is extremely demure and fashionable. It’s not as versatile as First Mate in my opinion but it looks good with just about anything nonetheless. It too is easy to work with and applies like a dream.

Lastly we have Sunset Sail

Sunset Sail is probably my second favorite CG polish thus far. It’s very subtle and compliments just about any color of polish you might want to add if you’re thinking about using a stamping plate or painting any designs on it. Despite it being subtle it is not lost on those around you. I got plenty of compliments on this polish the two days I wore it. I wish I could say it will not chip with 100% certainty but I only wore it for about 48 hours so I can’t make that guarantee. I did, however, wash dishes and do other activities that normally chip polish and it stayed in place during those two days. I have no doubts it would have gone almost a week.

Well, if you made it this far all I have left to say is I freaking love you for sticking this out! I am genuinely hoping for some regular readers so please pass this blog along to any of your friends or acquaintances. I have received over 100 hits since I started this page roughly two weeks ago and I have done so despite not regularly advertising it. I take this as a good sign and hope it continues garnering readers! Thank you agan for visiting and please come back!

About rookienails

As of July 2013: I'm currently 25 and married to a wonderful Marine officer named John. As of January 2013 we live in Camp Lejeune, North Carolina. Together we have a 22 month old son named Jameson. I went to school at the University of Mississippi and am originally from Rome, GA. I have also lived in SC, VT, and VA. Last but not least I love anything having to do with nails and jewelry! This blog is entirely about nails and while I'm a total beginner it's fun all the same.

Leave a Reply

